Breaking the stereotype đź‘Š

Tara's story on blending her nomadic lifestyle with her religion, staying hydrated, and the fastest demographic of solo travelers.

Hey, hey!

I want you to imagine a digital nomad. 

Did you picture an engineer-type guy with a slick Macbook and big noise-canceling headphones, chilling with a smoothie in his sunglasses on some remote beach?

If you said yes, then you’re not alone. This is the stereotypical picture of what a digital nomad looks like—and it’s one of the main reasons why I decided to launch SiteSee. After traveling the world, working remotely, and meeting dozens of other people who did the same, I realized that the real digital nomads I knew (especially women) weren’t getting the representation they deserved.

I think it’s time to put the spotlight on the real digital nomads—all of them.

So today, I’m happy to share Tara Jabbari’s story. I met Tara four years ago during a Remote Year program and immediately fell in love with her distinctive personality: She’s fiery. She’s quirky. And she’s got a background that defies the typical digital nomad stereotype.

Here’s her story.

Hey, this is Kelsey, and you’re reading the SiteSee newsletter. Think of me as your Big Sis when it comes to travel, inspiring you to keep going places. You can expect an email from me every Friday filled with nomad stories, tips for living a location-independent lifestyle, and the gear to get you there.

Travel Story ✍️

When I was a kid, my goal was to visit every country in the world ... But then I learned there are 190+ countries out there. 

So I reworked it a bit and narrowed my plan down to visiting every United Nations Headquarters and all of the Continental Baha’i Houses of Worship. 

For context: The Baha’i Faith is a religion that began in 19th-century Persia. At its core, the Baha’i Faith believes that we are all one and the same since we were all created by God. This message is best encapsulated in the quote, “The earth is but one country, and mankind its citizens.”

Today, the Baha’i Faith is the second most widely spread religion in the world, geographically. So as a Baha’i, I always try to get in touch with the local Baha’is whenever I visit a new country. It’s great to have this connection around the world, almost anywhere I go. And if nothing else, it gives my family extra comfort that I have emergency contacts to go to (if need be) when I’m away from home.

Since I’m a fully remote digital media consultant, I can easily combine my work with my travel and my visits to the Baha’i Temples.  

Why is it so important for me to see these Temples? 

For one thing, my family is from Iran, where the Baha’i Faith originated but remains heavily persecuted. We can’t go back to Iran for fear of death—or worse. If you’re interested in learning more, I co-produced and edited this video about the history of the persecution and the height of Baha’i murders in Iran. 

The Baha’i Faith, however, can be found all around the world, and its Temples are open for anyone to come for prayer and meditation. Since I can’t visit the birthplace of this Faith, visiting the Temples is a priority for me. 

Though my family is from Iran, I was raised in Chicago, home to the second most-visited Baha'i temple in the world (after the Lotus Temple in India), where I observed people from diverse backgrounds finding profound peace. 

Later, I saw the Baha'i Temple of Europe. Located near Frankfurt, Germany, this Temple was constructed relatively quickly after World War II as a symbol of unity in the wake of years of disunity and destruction. I initially found it unremarkable in photos, but my perception of it changed when I finally saw it in person.

As I entered the Temple during sunset, I saw the auditorium bathed in a warm glow. I was alone. In that moment, I prayed and reflected, realizing the true impact of what it feels like to actually be inside the Temple—a stark contrast to my initially underwhelming impression of the photos. 

Later, I visited two Baha’i Temples in Africa: first, the recently constructed Temple near Eldoret, Kenya, and then the first-ever Baha’i Temple in Africa, which is located in Kampala, Uganda. The journey proved challenging. It involved a six-hour bus ride from Nairobi to Eldoret and then another two-hour ride to the small town where the Temple is situated, near Kisumu. 

The beginning of the trip was relatively smooth, but the journey from the first Temple near Kisumu to the second Temple in Kampala took almost eight hours, involving a 3 AM arrival and a two-hour wait at the Uganda-Kenya border. In the end, I had to change hotels three times (one was plagued by translucent ants), but I managed to not only see both Temples but spend five hours at each of them. I devoted my time during my visits to prayer, earnestly praying for you and for everyone—both the living, the departed, and those yet to be born. 

To me, these lengthy travels were not in vain, no matter the challenges I faced to get there. But when I shared details of my journey with some friends, their surprise was evident: "I had no idea you were so religious!"

I realized that people have very different interpretations of what religion and prayer mean.

I was raised to believe that prayer and meditation are private endeavors; I say my prayers silently, dedicating them to my friends, family, and humanity across time. While some may view these prayers as mere mysticism, I see it as harmless. In the Baha’i Faith, we have hundreds of written prayers from our Prophet that cover themes like unity, peace, family, assistance, and remembrance of the departed. By acknowledging life’s complexities and surprises, the Baha’i Faith provides me with solace and guidance.

During my visit to the Temple in Kenya, I encountered a Baha’i from South Sudan who knew I was on my way to the Temple in Uganda (also known as the Mother Temple in Africa). Since she wasn’t able to be present in the Ugandan Temple, she asked me to pray for her community in her place. I gladly honored her request.

When I travel, my purpose extends beyond ticking off items on a bucket list. Instead, I want to visit these Temples because they serve as avenues for reflection. They allow me not only to seek guidance for myself but to also extend prayers and assistance to those who cannot be physically present.

As you read my story, you probably don’t picture a stereotypical digital nomad.

That’s not who I am. And I’m proud to break that stereotype.

I believe that the allure of travel and the nomadic lifestyle is universal and that it can cater to everyone's unique motivations for venturing into the world. 

Whether you seek solace and a renewed sense of purpose after a breakup, aim to immerse yourself in different cultures, decide to learn a new language, or simply wish to save money instead of living in an expensive New York City apartment, the possibilities are endless.

Above all, know that no matter your background or religion, the world is yours to explore, see, experience, collect, and visit. 

Whatever you aspire to do is within your reach. You just have to get out there.

…Oh, and for the record, I have been able to visit the NYC, Geneva, and Nairobi UN Offices Tours. Vienna is all that is left! 

– Tara Jabbari

If you’d like to connect with Tara, you can reach out to her here.

Gear Check🧳

Besides being the one thing your friend claims will cure your hangover, these Liquid I.V. Hydration Multiplier packs also excel at their intended purpose: helping you stay hydrated. 

Before a trip, I buy a dozen or so off Amazon and throw them into my suitcase. I love that they’re super compact so they’re not a hassle to pack and that they keep me hydrated during hectic travel days and/or afternoons spent sightseeing. It’s easy: 1) Just drop a couple into your crossbody bag before heading out for the day; 2) Mix it into your water; 3) Stay hydrated all.day.long. 

Airport Reads🗞️

  • The fastest-growing demographic of solo travelers? Believe it or not, it’s NOT your younger cousin with dreadlocks seeking self-discovery. It’s your retired parents. That’s right—individuals of the 55+ club are embarking on more solo travels without their partners. A whopping 46% more in 2023 than in 2022. 

  • If you’re looking for a virtual assistant, try checking out HireMyMom.com. They work with (you guessed it) stay-at-home moms who are looking for extra remote work. It’s way cooler than Upwork IMO. Because aren’t moms just the best? ❤️

  • This essay on 1,000 True Fans and the alternative route to success.

Last Thing✨

Thanks for being here! 

Here’s a fun fact: I keep a note on my phone where I jot down quotes I've come across over the years, and this one never fails to make me laugh (plus, it holds an undeniable truth):

“The only time you can change someone is when they are in diapers.”

Kris Carr

Have a wonderful weekend. See you here next Friday! 

Onwards,

Kelsey

Was this email forwarded to you?